Roles

Managing Custom User Roles

This feature allows you to set up and manage default and custom roles and permissions for different user groups on your deployment. Each deployment has a default “Admin” role, which cannot be deleted, but can be edited. This default “Admin” role allows for full control over ALL functionality on your deployment.

To access the roles management page,

  • On the left hand menu bar, click on Settings

  • Then, click on Roles

Custom_Role_Settings.png

  • You’ll be redirected to a page with a list of all existing roles - default & custom roles (created by admins if any exist).

Add a role

To add a custom user role,

  • Click on the yellow Add icon
  • Add the following details
    • Name: Provide a name for this new custom role
    • Description: Provide a brief description of what/who this custom role has been created for
    • Set your permissions. Below is a brief breakdown of what permissions get granted to users on selecting the options provided.
      • Manage Users: Allows for
        • Viewing Users
        • Adding, Editing, Deleting Users
        • and Changing roles for Users
      • Manage Posts: Allows for
        • Viewing posts
        • Editing and Deleting Posts
        • Publishing posts (Setting specific audiences to view )
        • Adding posts to collections
        • Creating new collections
      • Manage Settings: Allows for managing
        • General Settings
        • Map Settings
        • Data Sources
        • Surveys
        • Categories
      • Bulk Data import: Allows for upload of data via CSV files
  • Click on Save.

See the illustration below


Edit a role

To edit a role

  • Click on a role from the list provided to you.
  • On redirection to the edit page, make your desired changes to the role (i.e fill out details as directed in the Add Role section)
  • Click on Save to update the role.

Delete a role

To delete a role

  • Click on a role from the Roles management list page
  • Then, click on the Delete This Role button at the bottom of the page
  • A black pop up box will appear on the top of the page, prompting you to confirm whether you would like to delete the custom role. If
    • You would like to proceed with deletion, click on OK.
    • You would not like to proceed with deletion, click on Dismiss