We already use BRCK. The Ushahidi team spends a lot of time on conference calls. It’s what you do when you have a team spread across seven time zones. Every Monday the whole team gets on a call, but today, as is often the case, the net was down in Nairobi.

BRCK-in use

We thought the call would be a bust. But this week was different: our Nairobi team had a BRCK! We set up a small network in the iHub, and while the rest of the city was disconnected, only able to get access through their mobile devices, our team had Skype running smoothly and was able to plug away at the code to our heart’s content. We have tried to tether our phones, in the past, but the connection is never strong enough. Today we had the whole team linked up to the BRCK, and it was truly remarkable.

team in action


This was a landmark moment for us because this is exactly why we built the BRCK.
We were sick of not being able to connect.

We want to extend our gratitude to everyone who has supported our project. Thank you for believing in us, and helping us make the BRCK a reality. We are more convinced than ever that this is a game-changing device that is only going to be more important as more of the world begins to engage in the web.

Learn more about BRCK (Google + Hangout)

Join our Product and Technical teams for a deep dive with BRCK. We’re hosting this Google + Hangout to answer questions and show more ‘under the hood’.

Date: Wednesday, May 29, 2013
Times: 9:00 PDT/ 12:00 EDT/ 17:00 BST/ 19:00 EAT

To join the G+ hangout, see our Ushahidi event page.

dr

Can you support BRCK? Join us on Kickstarter